Collaborative Doers for Humanity


CARTHA is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization under US Tax Code.

CARTHA's Federal Tax ID (or EIN Number) is 20-5547610.

Your contributions to CARTHA are tax-deductible.

We are very appreciative of the innumerable hours volunteered by so many to advance CARTHA's vision to train, build, and empower academic-practitioner networks of Collaborative Doers ("Carthans") to advance glocal good.

We are very thankful for all the wonderful encouragement that we have received from so many. If you happen to be reading this and are interested in making a contribution–or know of someone who may be interested in making a contribution–to advance CARTHA's endowment or programmatic initiatives, we would love to hear from you.

To mark CARTHA's 10th anniversary in 2016, our founder established, in honor and memoryof her late Dad, G.R. Moorti, a new endowment fund in the name of CARTHA at the Community Foundation of Johnson County-Iowa. Donors continue to add their contributions to the growth of this endowment fund. If you are a prospective donor interested in making such a contribution, we encourage you to consider doing so and contact us for further details.

We are also building a separate endowment fund that will support CARTHA's core operations and programs in the future, no matter the location of such efforts. If you are interested in leaving your legacy this way and include CARTHA in your bequest, we encourage you to do so and contact our founder.

We acknowledge below the financial contributions to CARTHA since 2006 from individuals and organizations, listing them here in the chronological order in which their contributions were received.


  • Usha and Ramji Balakrishnan, Iowa
  • Raj Rajagopal, Iowa
  • Krishna and Chitra Krishnaswamy, California
  • Gordon Endow, California (made via the United Way of the Bay Area)
  • Murali Balakrishnan, Maryland
  • Venky Swaminathan, Colorado
  • David Osterberg, Iowa
  • Vasu R. Balakrishnan, New York
  • Marc Linderman, Iowa
  • Devasena Gnanashanmugam, North Carolina
  • Cartha Alene Mahoney, Florida
  • Arlene Drack, Iowa
  • Sandra L. Shotwell, Oregon
  • Raj Rajaram, Illinois
  • Krishnaswamy Family Gift Fund (contributions made via Fidelity Charitable Gift Fund)
  • Amy Butler, Iowa
  • Sridhar Ramamoorti, Georgia
  • Anant Vasudevan, Connecticut (and Anant's grandmother Visalakshi Jayaram)
  • Amie Ohlmann, Iowa
  • Miriam Thaggert, Iowa
  • Bonnie Sunstein, Iowa
  • Maggie Butler, Iowa
  • Madhavan Nayar, Illinois
  • Anu Subramanian, Iowa
  • Roger Williamson, Iowa
  • Judith Leavitt, Iowa
  • Satish Khera, Iowa
  • Girish and Sampada Mhatre, Iowa
  • Nitin and Ashwini Karandikar, Iowa


  • United Way of the Bay Area
  • Fidelity Charitable Gift Fund
  • Community Foundation of Johnson County, Iowa
  • ACT
  • Walmart Foundation
  • Wells Fargo Foundation
  • Iowa City Noon Rotary Club
  • Patel Brothers Foundation, Illinois
  • I Can Read Songs
  • Home of Hope, California
  • South Slope Cooperative Telephone Company, Iowa



© 2006 - 2017 CARTHA. All rights reserved.
85 Leamer Court, Iowa City, IA 52246, USA